zzzzzz……

LUSH Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask Review + Swatch

I had recently attended the LUSH Cosmetics Make Your Own Face Mask workshop at their flagship store in Covent Garden. This workshop was organised for one of the beauty blogger meet ups that I regularly attend. During this workshop, we all took part in the making of the Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask, which we all got to take home as well.

LUSH Catastrophe Cosmetic Face Mask

The Catastrophe Cosmetic face mask is made from the following:

– Fresh Blueberries: Rich in antioxidants and anti-inflammatory compounds. Great for treating acne, splotchy skin or issues with broken capillaries.

– Irish Moss: A seaweed that is full of nutrients and minerals that can restore and maintain the beauty and health of the human body. It is harvested for its nutrients, emulsifying abilities and its mucilage. Irish Moss is used in beauty products as its characteristics play a vital role in regaining the youthful properties of hair, skin and nails.

Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask– Almond Oil: Acts as a great moisturiser for skin. It is loaded with essential vitamins for beauty, such as A, D and E, does not have a greasy effect and it is not pore clogging, and quickly absorbed into the skin.

– Glycerine: Is used as a moisturizer to treat or prevent dry, rough, scaly, itchy skin and minor skin irritations

– Rose Absolute and Chamomile Essential Oils: Reduce redness and irritation.

– Calamine and Talc: Deep clean and soothe the skin at the same time.

Like most others, the Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask is preservative-free and therefore refrigeration is a must. These fresh face masks do not have a long shelf life and should be used within 3-4 weeks maximum. This mask is suitable for all skin types and can be applied once or twice a week, depending on how your skin looks and feels. The Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask retails at £5.95/75g pot.

How I use the mask:

Scary Photo Alert!

Scary Photo Alert!

– I apply the mask in a generous but not thick layer and leave it on for about 5 minutes. As this mask is refrigerated, that feeling of applying a cold mask to your face is simply refreshing and cooling to say the least; especially with the rising temperatures this summer.

– During the workshop we were advised not to leave the mask on for too long as it would end up drying on the skin, which would then make the use of the mask redundant. Once I have left the mask on for approximately 5 minutes or as soon as I notice it starting to dry and pull at my skin, I wash it with luke warm water. I’ve noticed that after I’ve washed off the mask, my skin feels soft and moisturised.

My Verdict: I’ve nearly emptied this 75g pot, which means I’ve used it quite a bit. I can definitely say that I have seen a difference in my skin texture after I’ve used the mask. The redness on my face due to my acne is reduced slightly, my pores are not as enlarged as they used to be and my skin surely feels smoother.

I definitely am going to pay LUSH Cosmetics another visit soon and purchase another pot of their fresh face mask, but this time I’d like to try out one which specifically targets acne-prone skin. Can’t wait!

Overall Rating: 4.3/5
(The only reason I’ve not rated this a 5/5 is because I’m sure I’m going to find a mask at LUSH Cosmetics that will prove to be more beneficial for my skin than the Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask – I already have my eye on a few).

Have any of you tried the Catastrophe Cosmetic Face Mask or any other Fresh Face Mask from LUSH Cosmetics? What was your verdict?

❤  Juliana

3 comments on “LUSH Catastrophe Cosmetic Fresh Face Mask Review + Swatch

  1. Pingback: #SuperGorgeousSept Challenge – Day 9: Everyone Must Try |

  2. Rebecca Goodyear
    July 19, 2013

    I just tried my mask (and took a photo of me in it!) and I was impressed. Smelt good enough to eat! Left my skin calm and clear – I only used about 1/3 of the tub though AND from the photos mine looks like it was on thicker that yours! Happy Lush-ing! xx

    Like

    • J.
      July 19, 2013

      Yeah, it smelt good enough to eat. The layer that is in the photo in the post is a bit thin I agree. The photo was taken the very first time I tried on the mask, so I wasn’t sure then how much I needed to get on, as the consistency was different from the masks I had been using before this one. Got about 1/4 left in the pot.
      How often do you use yours? I’ve been using mine twice a week on my entire face and about every 2-3 days on the T-zone, maybe that’s why I’ve got through more of it?

      J. xx

      Like

Thank you for stopping by my page; I'd love to hear from you! ~ Juliana.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other followers

