zzzzzz……

Pretty Smooth Smoothing Exfoliating Mitts – Review

Pretty Smoth_Smoothing Mitts-Exfoliating

Hair removal is something that most of us women spend so much of time on as part of our beauty regimes. There’s not just one depilatory method out there, but as well all know, we tend to stick to the method that we’re most comfortable with. It could either be waxing, shaving, using hair removal creams, sugaring, epilators or even electrolysis. With the exception of electrolysis, I’ve tried them all and I personally prefer sugaring to be the best method, followed by waxing and then epilators. However, ever since I moved to the UK, I’ve ended up switching to razors, something that I wish I hadn’t done. I clearly remember my mother’s words, “Whatever you do, don’t ever resort to using a razor!” Wise words that I failed to pay heed to at the time. Oh well, the damage is done and I can’t undo it.

A few of months ago (May to be precise) I happened to stumble upon these Smoothing Exfoliating Mitts while browsing around for toiletry supplies at the Bodycare store in Leicester. At the time, I wasn’t so sure how good or effective these mitts would turn out to be, so I bought just one pack. Each pack contains 3 mitts, which are re-useable.

Here’s what they look like. . .

Smoothing Exfoliating Mitts

Ingredients:

  • Material: Paper
  • Coating: Silica

How To Use:

  1. Ensure that the skin is clean and dry.
  2. Place the mitt against the skin and gently rub in a circular motion clockwise then anti-clockwise. The directions on the pack says 4 times each way and only in circular motions.
  3. The mitts should not be used by rubbing them up and down against the skin.
  4. The hair that is removed along with the exfoliated skin will appear as fine dust.
  5. Once you’re through with the removal and exfoliating process, dab a cool, damp towel to the area and then moisturise.
  6. Wipe the mitts clean and store away ready to be reused when next required.

Warnings:

  • Not to be used on the face or sensitive areas
  • Not to be used more than once a week.
  • Not to be used if skin is sensitive, irritated, broken, sunburnt or if you have varicose veins, moles or scars.
  • It is recommended that you carry out a small patch test before use. If there are no signs of irritation after 24 hours, then you can use the mitts.
  • If  you’re still in doubt, it’s best to consult your doctor before you use them.

I’ve used these mitts only on my legs and I would advise you to do the same, keeping in mind the instructions and warnings on the back of the pack.

Personally, I’ve had no complaints after using these mitts. I find them to be a much better alternative to shaving. My legs feel smoother after use and hair growth is slower and finer when compared to hair growth after shaving. With shaving, there are chances of getting cuts and nicks, ingrown hair and it doesn’t help at all when it comes to exfoliation. Besides, shaving also leads to skin irritation and thicker hair growth with prolonged use; something no girl or woman would ever want!

I’m only just ready to throw away the first mitt ever since I started using it in June (See photo above). So one pack of three mitts will surely go a long way and they’re not even expensive. My memory fails me when it comes to how much I paid, but I can assure you it was no more than £3. These mitts are made from paper, so they’re ever so light and therefore easy to carry along when traveling and they won’t even pose as a security risk if traveling by air.

These smoothing mitts are easily available online on eBay, Amazon and many other online retailer sites. Prices may vary across sites, so I’d advise you to look around a bit for the best deal.

Overall Rating: 4.2/5
The reason for rating this product a 4.2 is because I would rate an epilator 4.5/5, waxing 4.8/5 and sugaring 5/5.

Have any of you tried these smoothing mitts? What’s been your experience using them? I’d love to hear from you. Feel free to post your views in the comment box below or you could tweet me @buzzing_trends.

❤  Juliana

2 comments on “Pretty Smooth Smoothing Exfoliating Mitts – Review

  1. Simply Mia's
    August 12, 2013

    Good info Juliana! I think I personally will try this. Every day there are new products to remove hair. Of course waxing is probably the #1 option that most people choose. When they do, I suggest going to a spa and getting it professionally done instead of at home. You won’t be struggling at all with the mess (unlike your smoothing mitts), you literally will just lay there lol.

    Like

    • J.
      August 12, 2013

      Thanks, Mia! I’d love to hear your views on the mitts once you’ve used them.
      And yeah, I agree, best leave the waxing to be done by professionals; save you the trouble of clearing up the mess and have peace of mind that you’ve not missed a spot 😉 lol

      Like

Thank you for stopping by my page; I'd love to hear from you! ~ Juliana.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 590 other followers

