zzzzzz……

Stonebaked Pizza Co, Leicester – Review

Stonebaked-Pizza-Co-buzzingtrends-1

Stonebaked-Pizza-Co-buzzingtrends-3Stonebaked Pizza Co has been open for a while at Highcross Shopping Mall, Leicester. The restaurant is situated on the lower level of the mall, adjacent to Patisserie Valerie. Everytime I passed the restaurant, I said to myself, “I must try out this place…looks inviting”, and what got my attention was their claim that the pizza would be ready in all of 180 seconds. I was keen to put this to the test! (Cheeky wink)

Not too long ago, I met up with a friend for lunch and I suggested we try Stonebaked Pizza Co and she was game. What she told me then was, and I quote, “I tried the free pizza they were handing out when they just opened and it was yummy, so I’m definitely up for it!” So, off we went to fill ourselves with pizza and have a proper catch-up.

It was a weekday, so the place wasn’t too crowded. We didn’t have to wait at all to place our orders. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout. Once we paid for our orders, we then proceeded to build our custom-made pizzas. Stonebaked-Pizza-Co-buzzingtrends-4

For someone who has to exclude dairy from her diet because of intolerance, I cannot stress enough how glad I am to have finally found a pizza restaurant where I can actually enjoy a pizza minus the cheese. Woop Woop!

Stonebaked-Pizza-Co-buzzingtrends-2

Now for the cheeky part; as soon as my pizza was built and ready to be popped into the oven, I started the stopwatch. .  .

tick-tock . . .

tick-tock. . .

tick-tock. . .

DING! Pizza Ready!

Unfortunately, it took 300 seconds and not 180 seconds. The only reason I mentioned it is because I had already decided to test the claim. In all fairness, it wasn’t that bad a wait to be honest.

Voilà, here’s how my custom-made pizza turned out. I couldn’t wait to tuck in.

Stonebaked-Pizza-Co-buzzingtrends-6

I’m not a fan of soft pizza bases, so the crunchiness of this base was perfect. I loved the spicy sauce that I opted for instead of the classic pizza sauce. And the combination of chorizo, ham and pepperoni, accompanied by caramelised onions, red peppers and jalapenos was absolutely divine. All this for just £6.95. I washed this down with an Apple and Blueberry Still Juice drink from Feel Good Drinks Company.

Stonebaked-Pizza-Co-buzzingtrends-5

Mmmmm. . .  that was one delicious 11″ pizza.

Stonebaked-Pizza-Co-buzzingtrends-7

One minor peeve though, my friend requested for hot water as that’s what she felt like drinking at the time. And to our shock, she was denied hot water for “health and Safety Reasons”. Yes, you read that right! And the irony of it all was, there was Tea on the menu. So, it didn’t make any sense to either of us, for when you think of a logical reason, there is none. Because you need Hot Water for Tea, don’t you? Oh well, if hot water is your beverage of choice, then be warned, you won’t be getting any here. But fret not, the Feel Good Still Juices are delicious. So you won’t be disappointed.

VERDICT:  Factoring in ambiance, waiting time, price, cleanliness, staff friendliness and helpfulness, I’m rating Stonebaked Pizza Co at 4.5/5

If you’re local to Leicester, or planning a visit to Leicester, you have to try out Stonebaked Pizza Co. It is absolutely worth it. This has officially become my go-to restaurant for pizza.

Have you already given Stonebaked Pizza a try? How was your experience? Feel free to comment in the box below or tweet me @juliana_rego_. I’d love to hear all about it!

You can use #buzzingtrends on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

❤ Juliana

Thank you for stopping by my page; I'd love to hear from you! ~ Juliana.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other followers

