zzzzzz……

Leicester’s 6th Annual Summer Food and Drink Festival

Leicester-Summer-Food-and-Drink-Festival-2015-buzzingtrends-blog

For the sixth year running, Leicester Market (Voted ‘Britain’s Best Food Market’) held its annual summer food and drink festival on May 24, 2015. There were stalls catering to different tastes, right from food and drinks to arts and crafts. Buzzing with activities and people from all over, the market place was filled with excitement and banter. I met some lovely traders at the festival and even got chatting to a few. They were all a friendly lot.

Below are some of the traders/stalls I had the opportunity to photograph at the festival. Wherever possible, I’ve linked up either to their websites or social media accounts.

1. The Olive Tree Company with yummy treats from Borek to Baklava, marinated olives, turkish delight and much more.

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-001-Buzzingtrends-Blog

2. Spondon Bakery with a variety of their speciality, artisan breads sitting pretty.

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-006-Buzzingtrends-Blog

3. The Enchanted Tree Bakery had some gorgeous looking bespoke cookies and cupcakes on display.

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-008-Buzzingtrends-Blog

4. Saddington Farm Shop with some of their tempting pasties and jams.

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-007-Buzzingtrends-Blog

5. Chocolate Alchemy had some lip-smacking handmade chocolates calling out to me. . . but I resisted temptation, only just. . . because I ended up buying their scrumptious handmade brownies.

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-005-Buzzingtrends-Blog

6. Debbie Campbell Cakes with their beautiful spread of cupcakes

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-010-Buzzingtrends-Blog

7. Saffron Teas with their smooth tasting selection of artisan loose leaf teas. I had the pleasure of meeting the lovely ladies running the stall and got chatting to them. I also tasted three of the available flavours:

Assam, which was full-bodied but not too strong; Vanilla Chai, which I found insipidly sweet (not a winner for me, but my friend quite liked this one); Rose, which I liked best. I’m not a fan of rose flavoured anything to be honest, but I decided to give it a try. And surprisingly, it did not disappoint with its smooth, not too sweet and subtle flavours of rose, elderberries and hibiscus. (You’ve got yourself a ‘mini review‘ there, I’d say).

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-004-Buzzingtrends-Blog

8. Paul Hainsworth (Artist) – (Top Right) – had some beautiful prints of his watercolour paintings on display. If you’re a Leicester Tigers fan and are the arty type, this one will be right up your street.

9. JacquelineMay designs – (Bottom Left) – Designer creations on display by artist Jackie Freer.

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-014-Buzzingtrends-Blog

There were quite a few live cooking stations catering to varied palettes – to name a few, we have (from the Top, L-R). . .

10. LouLou’s Paella I decided to have their chicken and chorizo paella for lunch and it was perfect.

11. Picks Organic Farms | 12. Pad Thai | 13. Fusion Flavours

14. The Smoke House | 15. I Love Crêpes

16. Lahore Chaska had a selection of kebab wraps and I ordered the lamb kebab wrap to take home for my dinner and it was out of this world…yummy!  

17. Everest Dine

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-009-Buzzingtrends-Blog

18. Long Lane Brewery had a decent selection of Stouts and Ales on offer.

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-012-Buzzingtrends-Blog

19. Cocktails Love Leicester had an interesting selection of cocktails and I sampled Bacardi’s Carta Fuego red spiced rum spirit drink, which can be enjoyed as a shot, and with a twist of Tabasco sauce. Oooh baby, did I enjoy this shot!

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-011-Buzzingtrends-Blog

20. Traditional Hand Roasted Coffee – I was craving my caffeine fix by the end of the day and being lactose intolerant, the only coffee I can ever have when out and about is a black Americano. So, when I saw there was Soya milk at this coffee stall, my eyes lit-up. Shoutout to the lovely gentleman who made me a delicious chocolate-orange latte with the last of what was left of the Organic Soya Milk. Thank you!

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-buzzingtrends-blog

And. . . before we knew it. . .  it was already Pimm’s O’Clock!

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-013-Buzzingtrends-Blog

Before I end this blog post, amongst all the brochures available at the information stall, there was a Leicester Markets Food Festival Questionnaire available, giving everyone a chance to win prizes. So, if you missed the food fest, you can still fill this feedback form, which is available online. The submission deadline is June 1, 2015. Don’t miss out!

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-003-Buzzingtrends-Blog

The event was a huge success, in my opinion and I think I can speak on behalf of my friends who I went along with, for I believe they felt the same. We had a rollicking time and I’m looking forward to the winter event on November 22, 2015.

Leicester_Summer_Food_and_Drink_Festival_24.05-Buzzingtrends-Blog

Hope you enjoyed this blog post of Leicester’s Summer Food and Drink Festival. Feel free to ‘Follow’, ‘Like’ and ‘Comment’, and of course ‘Share’ this post using hashtags #buzzingtrends #LE1FoodFest #LYLM2015 #LeicesterMarkets

❤ Juliana

Thank you for stopping by my page; I'd love to hear from you! ~ Juliana.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 594 other followers

